The Penalties For Driving Under The Influence In Oklahoma Are Severe. If You Have Been Charged Or Are Being Questioned About Drunk Driving, Seek Legal Attention Immediately.
In an effort to curb the rate of Oklahoma DUI and DWI accidents, injuries and fatalities, lawmakers in Oklahoma have established strict penalties for individuals convicted of drunk driving in the state. Unfortunately, this means that even first-time offenders in Oklahoma DUI cases can be subjected to significant jail time, a license revocation, and hefty fines and fees under state drunk driving laws. If you have been charged with drunk driving in Oklahoma, your first course of action should be to contact our skilled DUI defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center. Our drunk driving defense lawyers in Oklahoma City have years of experience helping those charged with a DUI or DWI protect their legal rights and pursue a favorable outcome.
Oklahoma DUI: First Offense (Misdemeanor)
For a first offense DUI conviction in Oklahoma, you could face a sentence of five days to one year in jail, or up to four years in jail if you have a child under the age of 18 in the vehicle at the time of the offense. You could also be fined up to $1,000 for a first-time DUI conviction, although that fine will be doubled if you have a child under 18 in the car at the time of your Oklahoma drunk driving arrest. In addition to jail time and fines, being convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma also warrants a 30-day license suspension, participation in an assessment and evaluation treatment program, and a minimum of $300 in DUI fees.
Oklahoma DUI: Second Offense (Felony)
If you are convicted of a second DUI offense in Oklahoma, you will face much stiffer penalties, including a sentence of one to five years in jail, or up to four years if you have a child under 18 in the car with you. You will also be faced with a one-year license suspension, a fine of up to $2,500 (or double the amount if you have a child under the age of 18 in the vehicle at the time of your arrest), and mandatory participation in a treatment program. You will also be required to use an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which is similar to a breathalyzer, after the license revocation period. This device requires the driver to breath into the mouthpiece before the vehicle can be started. If the ignition interlock mechanism detects a blood alcohol content (BAC) above the preset limit, the car will not start.
Oklahoma DUI: Third Offense (Felony)
As a felony conviction, a third Oklahoma DUI offense comes with life-changing consequences, including a one- to ten-year prison term and up to $5,000 in fines. This serious offense is also punishable by a three-year license revocation and mandatory use of an ignition interlock device for up to three years after the revocation period ends. Multiple DUI convictions can also bring Habitual Offender laws into play, which allow prosecutors to seek more severe sentences for felony defendants who have been convicted of two or more drunk driving offenses in Oklahoma. Habitual Offender laws can result in an individual being sentenced to 20 years to life in prison, and can even lead to the revocation of certain civil rights, like the right to vote or own a weapon.
Oklahoma Accidents Caused by Drunk Driving
Unfortunately, some instances of drunk driving may result in Oklahoma car accidents, injuries and possibly even fatalities. Even as a first-time offense, a DUI conviction accompanied by a first-degree manslaughter or second-degree murder charge is considered a felony in Oklahoma. In addition to the fees, fines, jail time, license revocation and other penalties associated with an Oklahoma DUI offense, the convicted individual will also face significant punishment for the murder or manslaughter charges.
Contact Our DUI Defense Attorneys For Help
If you are facing charges for a DUI or DWI offense in Oklahoma, you don’t have to do it alone. Contact our experienced DUI defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center today, and our team of lawyers can help you defend yourself against these serious charges. Many people don’t realize that there are a number of possible defenses in DUI or DWI cases. With the help of a knowledgeable drunk driving defense attorney, it may be possible to have your drunk driving charge reduced to a less serious offense, or have your charges dismissed altogether. For example, if you are charged with a DUI in Oklahoma, you may be able to plead to a lesser offense, possibly obtaining a “wet reckless” conviction, or a conviction of alcohol-related reckless driving, which is associated with less serious penalties. Contact our DUI defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center today to discuss your legal options.