Although many people think of driving as a right, the hard truth is that having a driver’s license is a privilege – one that can easily be revoked. You have to earn the privilege of operating a motor vehicle in Oklahoma, and you must maintain your driving privileges by practicing safe and lawful driving behavior. In some cases, an Oklahoma offender’s driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for a certain period of time, depending on the individual’s driving record and his or her violation, such as a DUI. Because most of us have become accustomed to hopping in the car and driving to work, to the store, or to a friend’s house whenever we want, a driver’s license suspension may be a rude awakening for some. If you are facing a DMV license suspension for an Oklahoma DUI, contact our experienced drunk driving defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center to discuss your legal options.
Common Reasons for an OK Driver’s License Suspension
There are a number of circumstances under which an individual’s driver’s license may be revoked or suspended, the most common of which is an Oklahoma DUI or DWI offense. The legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Oklahoma is 0.08%, which means anyone operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher is considered to be intoxicated under Oklahoma law. Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs will lead to a license suspension in Oklahoma, the period of which will depend on whether the violation is a first, second, third or subsequent offense. The period of revocation for a DUI in Oklahoma is as follows:
- First offense: 30-day license suspension
- Second offense: One-year license suspension
- Third offense: Three-year license suspension
Even if your BAC is below 0.08% though, you could still be charged with an Oklahoma DWI offense – driving while impaired – which is typically reserved for drivers with a blood alcohol content between 0.05% and 0.08%, and is associated with a license suspension as well. For a first offense, your license will be suspended for 30 days, six months for a second offense, and one year for a third offense. Another common reason for a driver’s license revocation is refusal to submit to a chemical test. If you are pulled over by a police officer who has probable cause to believe you are intoxicated, and you refuse to take a breathalyzer, urine, saliva or blood test, your license will automatically be suspended for between 180 days and three years, even if you haven’t been drinking.
Contact an OK DUI Defense Attorney Today
Having your driver’s license revoked may seem like a minor punishment, until you realize that the inability to drive means a severe restriction in your everyday freedoms. If you have been charged with a criminal offense in Oklahoma and you are facing a driver’s license suspension, contact our team of skilled DUI defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center today. With the help of our knowledgeable criminal defense lawyers, you can ensure that your legal rights are protected and work towards having your charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Having a successful DUI defense attorney on your side when facing DUI charges in Oklahoma can significantly improve your chances of a favorable outcome.