Facing battery charges in Oklahoma? Our defense attorneys will defend your rights in and out of court. Call today for a FREE case review.
Battery describes the act of striking someone on purpose with the expectations of harming or disrespecting them. Unintentional contact, no matter how severe, is typically not charged as a battery offense in Oklahoma. A battery conviction in Oklahoma City is associated with severe criminal consequences as well as liability for a civil lawsuit, fines of up to $2,000, and up to 6 months in county jail. If you have been charged with battery in Oklahoma, contact our criminal defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center to review your case today.
Oklahoma Battery Charges
Battery describes the physical act of knowingly and willfully striking another person with the intent to cause them bodily harm, injury or pain. Under Oklahoma criminal law, assault and battery, while two distinct offenses, are often charged together, and can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony offense. An assault and battery conviction can significantly affect numerous aspects of your life, including your ability to find a job or hold a professional license, and may even adversely affect future personal and social relationships. If you are facing assault and battery charges in Oklahoma, consult our criminal defense law firm for legal help.
Common Battery Defenses and Penalties
The most common defense in battery cases is self defense. In Oklahoma, if a reasonable person in similar circumstances would feel threatened by an attack, that person may use any reasonable force necessary to prevent injury. Other possible defenses include accidental contact, defense of another, or even consent. There are five classifications of assault and battery crimes in Oklahoma, including:
- Assault and battery
- Assault and battery (domestic abuse)
- Assault/battery with a dangerous weapon
- Aggravated assault and battery
Penalties for assault and battery crimes in Oklahoma are strict, and depend on factors like the nature of the criminal charge, the defendant’s criminal record and the severity of the victim’s injuries. In Oklahoma, if a defendant is convicted of battery, the subsequent punishment will depend on:
- The severity of the injuries inflicted
- Whether a weapon was used
- The relationship of the victim and the accused
- Whether the act was committed in the presence of a child
- Whether the victim was aged, incapacitated or decrepit
Any person convicted of battery in Oklahoma may be sentenced to prison time, fines and/or probation, in combination with other penalties. For example, if the offender receives probation for assault and battery (domestic abuse), the court must order the defendant to undergo a domestic abuse treatment program. The court may also require the defendant to participate in individual, marital or family counseling, or require that the defendant complete anger management courses.
Contact Our Criminal Defense Attorneys for Help
When facing assault and battery charges in Oklahoma, securing the representation of a qualified criminal defense attorney is critical to the potential success of your case. Our skilled defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center have years of experience in handling assault and battery cases, and can help you reach a fair and just outcome in your case. Contact our Oklahoma City-based law firm today to begin protecting your rights.