Assault charges in Oklahoma carry serious consequences. If you are being charged, call our defense attorneys to discuss your case BEFORE you speak to police.
Assault is defined as the threat or attempt to strike another person, regardless of whether any physical attack actually takes place. This means that an assault may be committed without actually touching, striking or doing bodily harm to another person. Assault charges in Oklahoma carry consequences of up to six months in jail and up to a thousand dollar fine. If you have been charged with assault or aggravated assault, contact our experienced defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center today.
Aggravated Assault Charges
Aggravated assault occurs when a person attempts to cause or purposely causes bodily injury to another person under circumstances showing extreme indifference to the value of human life. A person may be charged with aggravated assault if they assault a person who is elderly, weak or incapacitated, or if they assault another person using a deadly weapon. In all states, aggravated assault is considered assault with the intent to murder, rob or rape, and is punished more severely than simple assault. If you have been accused of assault or aggravated assault in Oklahoma, the potential success of your case will depend largely on the experience and qualifications of your legal representation. With the help of our knowledgeable defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center, you may be able to have your assault charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Penalties for Assault in Oklahoma
The penalties associated with an assault conviction are significant and may vary based on the severity of the crime, whether or not the offender has any prior history of assault crimes or convictions, and whether the accused is currently on probation or parole. Consequences of assault crimes can include:
- Probation or parole
- Loss of right to possess weapons
- Anger management classes
Although assault and battery (the unlawful use of physical force against another person) are two distinct charges, they are often charged together. In Oklahoma, the following penalties for assault apply:
- Simple assault – Punishable by up to 30 days in count jail and up to a $500 fine
- Misdemeanor assault and battery – Punishable by up to 90 days in the county jail and up to a $1,000 fine
- Felony assault and battery – Punishable by up to four years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine
- Aggravated assault and battery – Punishable by up to five years in prison and up to a $500 fine
A Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
If you have been accused of assault or aggravated assault in Oklahoma, contact our qualified criminal defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center immediately. An assault or aggravated assault defense requires a great deal of investigation into the circumstances surrounding the case, as well as experience in handling assault cases like yours. With the help of our skilled defense lawyers, you can ensure that your rights are protected and that your case is represented in a professional and effective manner.