Thursday , 8 December 2022
ATTENTION!

Tell Your Story To A Child Protection and Safety Act, Megan’s Law and Sex Offender Registration in Oklahoma Lawyer Now For Free ↓

Oops! We could not locate your form.


Home » Oklahoma Criminal Defense » Sex Offense Charges » Child Protection and Safety Act, Megan’s Law and Sex Offender Registration in Oklahoma

Child Protection and Safety Act, Megan’s Law and Sex Offender Registration in Oklahoma

In response to a public push to “get tough” on sex crimes perpetrated against children, U.S. lawmakers have established strict regulations regarding sex crimes, especially those involving children. Three child protection statutes currently in effect in the U.S. include the Child Protection and Safety Act, Megan’s Law, and national Sex Offender Registration requirements. Under these laws, individuals convicted of sex crimes involving a child or minor are subjected to a significant loss of civil freedoms, are stripped of certain constitutional rights, and are ultimately thrust into the public eye as a person to be condemned. If you have been charged with child molestation, child pornography, or another sex crime involving children in Oklahoma, consult our skilled defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center today. Don’t wait to protect your legal rights against the prosecutors and investigators who are sure to deem you guilty even before a trial. With the help of our experienced defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center, you can be sure to understand and defend yourself against your sex crime charges.

Talk To A Lawyer Now

Accused of a sex crime against children? Contact our defense attorneys today for qualified legal representation.

Child Protection and Safety Act

The federal statute called the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was signed into law by President George W. Bush in July 2006. This Act effectively categorized sex offenders in the United States based on a three-tier system, and mandated that offenders in Tier 3 – the most serious tier – update their location every three months for the rest of their lives. According to the Act, Tier 2 offenders must update their location every six months for 25 years, and Tier 1 offenders must update their location every year for 15 years. Under the Child Protection and Safety Act, failure of a sex offender to register and update their personal information with the state is a felony offense.

The Child Protection and Safety Act served to expand the National Sex Offender Registry, integrating sex offender databases across the country and allowing law enforcement in the U.S. to access sex offender information already on record with federal authorities and with other states. The Act also strengthened federal penalties for those convicted of crimes against children, and created new regional Internet Crimes Against Children Taskforces, in an effort to assist law enforcement in arresting those who attempt to illegally proposition children for sex acts on the Internet.

Megan’s Law

Megan’s Law, a law created in response to the murder of Megan Kanka, is the name given to a collection of U.S. laws requiring law enforcement authorities to make information about registered sex offenders available to the public. Although individual states can decide for themselves which information should be public and how it will be circulated, this information typically includes the sex offender’s name, address, picture, incarceration date and the nature of his or her crime. Under Megan’s Law, this information may be displayed on public websites, and can also be distributed in pamphlets, published in newspapers, or made public through a number of other measures. Megan’s Law was enacted in 1996, and failure of state authorities to release registered sex offender information to the public may result in a loss of federal funding.

Sex Offender Registration

Every state in the U.S. has sex offender registration laws in effect, and although some requirement details may differ state by state, the basic sex offender requirements are essentially the same. According to sex offender registration laws, convicted sex offenders are required to:

  • Register with local law enforcement when planning to move to a different residence
  • Maintain current contact information with local law enforcement for the required amount of years
  • Keep a certain distance from schools, day care centers and parks for the required amount of years
  • Maintain current contact information with parole board or state law enforcement, if applicable

The failure of a registered sex offender to adhere to one or more of these requirements is typically considered a felony offense, and may be punishable by time in prison.

Contact Our Defense Attorneys for Legal Help

There are a number of laws and requirements in effect in the United States that can have a significant impact on a sex offender’s life, which is why enlisting the help of a qualified criminal defense attorney in Oklahoma when facing charges for a child sex crime is critical. If you have been charged with a sex crime involving a child or a minor in Oklahoma, contact our skilled defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center as soon as possible. Under the Child Protection and Safety Act, Megan’s Law, and sex offender registration requirements, the personal reputation, professional life and civil freedoms of an individual convicted of a sex crime involving children may be tarnished beyond repair. With the help of our knowledgeable criminal defense team at Oklahoma Legal Center, a person arrested for child pornography, sexual abuse of a child, child molestation, or another sex crime involving a minor can protect his or her legal rights and build a strong defense in his or her case.

Tell Your Story To A Child Protection and Safety Act, Megan’s Law and Sex Offender Registration in Oklahoma Lawyer Now For Free ↓

Oops! We could not locate your form.