What can a bottle of beer or a glass of wine cost you? If it’s the bottle or glass that impairs your driving and leads to a DUI conviction in Oklahoma, it could cost you $10,000. And if that last bottle or glass results in an Oklahoma drunk driving accident, it could cost you a …
What can a bottle of beer or a glass of wine cost you? If it’s the bottle or glass that impairs your driving and leads to a DUI conviction in Oklahoma, it could cost you $10,000. And if that last bottle or glass results in an Oklahoma drunk driving accident, it could cost you a whole lot more. Operating a motor vehicle in OK with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, whether you are under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both, can not only cost thousands of dollars, but may also cost you your freedom, and can put the lives of other drivers and passengers at risk. If you are facing DUI charges in Oklahoma City, your first course of action should be to enlist the help of an Oklahoma criminal defense lawyer to discuss your legal options. At Oklahoma Legal Center, our DUI attorneys can help you fight the charges and protect your legal rights.
DUI – First Offense
If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of alcohol in Oklahoma as a first time offender, your license will be revoked, even if you aren’t convicted of the crime. And if you refuse to take the chemical test on your first offense, your license will be automatically revoked for six months. If you are convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma City, you could face up to six months in jail and a 30-day suspension of your driver’s license. You will have to pay fines between $100 and $500 for the offense, and possibly up to $2,000 if there was a minor in the car at the time of the offense. In addition, a new law was introduced in 2010 in Oklahoma, requiring all drivers with a DUI conviction to attend an alcohol and substance abuse program.
DUI – Second Offense
Refusal to submit to a chemical test on your second DUI offense will lead to a one-year revocation of your driver’s license. Since a second drunk driving offense is classified as a felony in Oklahoma, a conviction can mean one to five years in jail and a driver’s license suspension of six months. If there is a minor in your car when you are caught with a BAC above 0.08% for the second time, you could face up to four years in prison and up to $2,500 in fines. You may also be required to take part in a five-day residential alcohol treatment program.
DUI – Subsequent Offense
If you refuse to take a chemical test on a third or subsequent offense, you could have your driver’s license revoked for three years. If convicted of drunk driving, you could face imprisonment for anywhere between one to 20 years. In addition, you will have to pay at least $2,000 in fines, possibly up to $10,000. Repeat offenders, or drivers convicted of another DUI in OK within five years of a previous drunk driving offense, are required by the state to get an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle at their own expense.
Contact a DUI Defense Attorney for Legal Help
Being convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma can result in costs that extend beyond hefty fines, time in jail and driver’s license revocation. If you are convicted of a drunk driving offense in OK, especially as a second, third or subsequent offense, you may have trouble for the rest of your life regarding enrollment in school, applying for certain jobs, and even forming meaningful social relationships. If you are facing a DUI conviction in Oklahoma, contact our qualified DUI lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center today. Our law firm is located in Oklahoma City, and our drunk driving attorneys have years of experience helping individuals facing drunk driving charges protect their legal rights.