Monday , 28 November 2022
ATTENTION!
Home » Criminal Defense » The Cost of an Oklahoma DUI May be Benefiting the State More than Deterring Offenders

The Cost of an Oklahoma DUI May be Benefiting the State More than Deterring Offenders

According to Oklahoma statistics, nearly 20,000 drivers across the state are arrested for drunk driving every year, and Mothers Against Drug Driving (MADD) reports that more than one-third of these individuals re-offend. These statistics have raised important questions about whether the thousands of dollars many DUI offenders in Oklahoma are required to spend on court-mandated …

According to Oklahoma statistics, nearly 20,000 drivers across the state are arrested for drunk driving every year, and Mothers Against Drug Driving (MADD) reports that more than one-third of these individuals re-offend. These statistics have raised important questions about whether the thousands of dollars many DUI offenders in Oklahoma are required to spend on court-mandated treatments and other fees is actually benefiting the state more than the offender. If you have been arrested on suspicion of drunk driving in Oklahoma, your first course of action should be to enlist the help of our qualified DUI defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center. With our lawyers on your side, you can protect your legal rights and build a strong defense in your drunk driving case.

Oklahoma DUI Offense Penalties and Fees

Mental health therapist Donna Cunningham has evaluated convicted drunk drivers for close to 20 years, and she believes that the process used to determine how much treatment offenders in Oklahoma need is flawed, beginning with its costly price tag. Those convicted on Oklahoma DUI charges must bond out of jail and get their car out of impound, plus pay for legal fees and various court-ordered treatments related to their offense. A drunk driving conviction in Oklahoma carries serious penalties, including up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, mandatory participation in a treatment program, and other fees, even for first-time offenders. All in all, one DUI offense can cost an offender anywhere between $6,000 and $10,000, and with one in three convicted drunk drivers re-offending, some people are questioning whether the high cost of a DUI is actually an effective deterrent.

Contact Our Qualified Lawyers Today

Each DUI offender in Oklahoma is required to take a D.R.I. Assessment, which is essentially a series of questions tied to a points system. The higher the points on the assessment, the more treatment the offender is required to undergo. However, Cunningham believes that certain questions on the D.R.I. are designed to automatically raise the score, ultimately resulting in more money going to the state. “I certainly think it’s a money generated program,” said Cunningham. If you are facing DUI charges in Oklahoma City, or elsewhere in Oklahoma, consult our DUI defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center to discuss your possible defense options. Being convicted on charges of drunk driving in Oklahoma can significantly affect the rest of your life. Contact our DUI defense attorneys today for qualified legal help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>