The state of Oklahoma has implemented strict laws and penalties for DUI offenses, and those in place for drunk drivers under the age of 21 are even more severe. Oklahoma is what is known as a “zero tolerance” state, which means that lawmakers have taken a strong stance against underage drinking and driving, making it …
The state of Oklahoma has implemented strict laws and penalties for DUI offenses, and those in place for drunk drivers under the age of 21 are even more severe. Oklahoma is what is known as a “zero tolerance” state, which means that lawmakers have taken a strong stance against underage drinking and driving, making it illegal for all persons under 21 to drive with a positive blood alcohol concentration (BAC). In other words, any person under the age of 21 who is caught operating a motor vehicle with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system in Oklahoma will incur considerable drunk driving penalties per OK’s zero tolerance law, even if they aren’t convicted of a DUI in court. As a driver younger than 21, you don’t want to face the penalties associated with underage drinking and driving. If you have been charged with this offense in Oklahoma, contact our experienced DUI defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center to explore your possible defense strategies.
Penalties Associated With Oklahoma Underage DUI Offenses
In relation to DUI laws, the term “zero tolerance” describes the practice of taking compulsory action and enforcing mandatory penalties for specific offenses, without taking into consideration any extenuating circumstances for a specific offense. According to OK drunk driving laws, anyone who is charged with violating Oklahoma’s zero tolerance policy regarding underage drinking and driving will automatically have their driver’s license revoked for six months for a first offense. Other penalties associated with this offense in Oklahoma may include between $100 and $500 in fines, 20 hours of community service, and a treatment program.
For a second underage drunk driving offense, the individual will have his or her license revoked for one year, and may also face penalties such as a fine of between $100 and $1,000, a mandatory treatment program, 240 hours of community service, the use of an ignition interlock device, and any other treatments recommended by the court. A third offense of this kind is associated with a three-year license revocation, as well as additional penalties, including between $100 and $2,000 in fines, a mandatory treatment program, 480 hours of community service, and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Our DUI Defense Attorneys Can Help
For individuals under the age of 21, consuming even one alcoholic drink and then getting behind the wheel of a car can have life-changing consequences. Here at Oklahoma Legal Center, our DUI defense lawyers understand the adverse effects an underage drunk driving conviction can have on an individual’s permanent record. If you are facing charges for an underage DUI offense in Oklahoma, contact our qualified DUI defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center today. Our law firm is located in Oklahoma City, and our lawyers have the skill and knowledge necessary to help you protect yourself against these serious drunk driving charges. Being convicted of a DUI offense under the age of 21 can have a serious impact on many aspects of your life for years to come, including certain educational and occupational prospects. With the help of our reputable DUI defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center, you can build a strong defense in your case and protect your legal rights throughout the process.