A 16-year-old Oklahoma boy has been charged with first-degree manslaughter for the death of a woman who was killed in a traffic accident on February 17. According to authorities, the minor is accused of driving while intoxicated and not having a valid driver’s license when he struck another car, killing Patricia N. Russell, 55, of …
A 16-year-old Oklahoma boy has been charged with first-degree manslaughter for the death of a woman who was killed in a traffic accident on February 17. According to authorities, the minor is accused of driving while intoxicated and not having a valid driver’s license when he struck another car, killing Patricia N. Russell, 55, of Oklahoma. Russell was pronounced dead at an area hospital after the devastating accident. If your child has been charged with a serious criminal offense, like first-degree manslaughter, in Oklahoma, his or her future depends on the expertise of the legal representation you choose. Contact our reputable criminal defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center today to discuss the case and your child’s possible defense options. With the help of our Oklahoma City-based law firm, you can significantly improve your child’s chances of a favorable outcome in his or her case.
Penalties for a 1st-Degree Manslaughter Conviction
According to Oklahoma police, the teen involved in the fatal collision was driving at high speeds prior to striking a vehicle in which Russell was a passenger. The other driver involved in the accident was hospitalized and the teenager suffered minor injuries. He remains in the Garland County Jail, and his name has been withheld because of his age. Unfortunately, if the 16-year-old is convicted of the first-degree manslaughter charges, he will face significant penalties that could affect the rest of his life. Under Oklahoma law, first-degree manslaughter describes an act of violence from which death or seriously bodily harm results. A conviction on charges of first-degree manslaughter in Oklahoma carries a punishment of not less than four years in prison, among other penalties.
Consult Our Defense Attorneys for Legal Help
It is not clear as to why the OK teen has not been charged with vehicular manslaughter, a lesser offense that involves the act of negligently driving a vehicle and directly causing the death of another person. Penalties for a vehicular manslaughter conviction in the state of Oklahoma may include a fine of between $500 and $1,000, and two to three years in jail with probation. Although the accused in this case is a minor, he could be tried and sentenced as an adult if the juvenile court relinquishes its jurisdiction and his case is transferred to adult court. If your child is facing charges for manslaughter or another major offense in Oklahoma, don’t hesitate to contact qualified legal counsel. With our criminal defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center on your side, you can protect your child’s rights and improve the chances of his or her charges being reduced to a lesser offense or dismissed altogether.