After being convicted of a sex offense in Oklahoma, it is extremely important that you understand the requirements for sex offender registration established by Oklahoma law, so as to not suffer the harsh consequences of a sex offender registration violation. Under the Sex Offenders Registration Act, convicted sex offenders in Oklahoma are required to register …
After being convicted of a sex offense in Oklahoma, it is extremely important that you understand the requirements for sex offender registration established by Oklahoma law, so as to not suffer the harsh consequences of a sex offender registration violation. Under the Sex Offenders Registration Act, convicted sex offenders in Oklahoma are required to register updated contact information with the Department of Corrections and local law enforcement, and are required to keep these authorities apprised of this personal information for a certain period of years depending on the severity of their offense. If you are facing Oklahoma sex crime charges, or if you have already been convicted of a sex offense and you are unsure of your next step regarding sex offender registration, contact our sex crime defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center for qualified legal help.
3-Tier System for Oklahoma Sex Offenses
For the purpose of determining a convicted sex offender’s perceived risk of future offenses, the Sex Offenders Registration Act establishes a three-tier system, with classification based on the severity of an offender’s sex crime. Tier 1 offenders, for example, are the least dangerous, and are required to update their contact information every year for a total of 15 years. A Tier 2 classification is assigned for more serious sex crimes, and these offenders are required to update their information every six months for 25 years. Tier 3, on the other hand, is reserved for the most serious Oklahoma sex offenses, and these offenders are required to update contact information every 90 days for the remainder of their lives. The registration requirements mandated by the Sex Offenders Registration Act are considerable, and failure to abide by these requirements is considered a felony offense under Oklahoma law, punishable by a prison sentence of up to five years.
Our Sex Crime Defense Lawyers Can Help
Being convicted of a sex crime in Oklahoma is a serious offense, associated with considerable penalties and sometimes life-long consequences. What makes Oklahoma sex crimes even more devastating for offenders is that even after serving time in prison and completing the additional terms of their punishment, they are still subjected to mandatory sex offender registration, which can severely impact their personal and professional lives long into the future. If you have been charged with an Oklahoma sex crime, or if you are unsure of your sex offender registration requirements, don’t hesitate to contact our qualified sex crime defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center. Our team of criminal defense attorneys has extensive experience protecting the rights of accused sex offenders, and can help you improve your chances of a favorable outcome in your case. You don’t want to be subjected to the severely restricting requirements of the Sex Offenders Registration Act. Contact our sex crime defense attorneys today for legal help.