Vehicular manslaughter charges? Our criminal defense lawyers have years of experience defending Oklahomans charged with vehicular manslaughter.
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious criminal offense in Oklahoma, typically charged when a defendant negligently operates a motor vehicle and directly causes the death of another person while breaking the law, i.e. by driving while intoxicated or driving recklessly. Under Oklahoma criminal law, a defendant can be convicted of vehicular manslaughter if his negligent driving results in the death of another motorist or of a passenger in his or her own vehicle. An Oklahoma vehicular manslaughter charge may be considered a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances of the crime, and the penalties associated with each can be life-changing. If you have been charged with vehicular manslaughter in Oklahoma, it is important to have experienced criminal defense attorneys handling your case. Contact our knowledgeable lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center to review your case today.
Vehicular Manslaughter and Oklahoma Laws
Vehicular manslaughter is a term used to describe the crime of negligently driving a vehicle and directly causing the death of another human being. In Oklahoma, a vehicular manslaughter charge can result from the death of another motorist or a passenger in your own vehicle if the death was caused while you were breaking the law. A defendant may be convicted of vehicular manslaughter if a person’s death results from the defendant’s drunk driving, reckless driving, gross negligence or speeding, as a few examples.
Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter in Oklahoma
Vehicular manslaughter charges are often filed in combination with other offenses, such as drunk driving, and the specific circumstances surrounding the incident will determine whether the vehicular manslaughter crime will be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Depending on the degree of the charges, a person accused of vehicular manslaughter may face an array of penalties, including jail time, fines, restitution to the victim’s family, and more. In addition to fines and incarceration, a person convicted of vehicular manslaughter in Oklahoma may also face mandatory rehabilitation, probation, and a permanent mark on his or her criminal record. Factors that may influence the punishment associated with a vehicular manslaughter conviction include:
- Prior criminal record
- Probation/parole status
- The circumstances of the incident
A charge for vehicular manslaughter will most likely be considered a misdemeanor if it was due to a minor crime, such as slight speeding. Penalties in Oklahoma for a misdemeanor vehicular manslaughter charge may include up to a year in county jail or a fine. On the other hand, a felony vehicular manslaughter offense may be charged if the offender was committing a more serious crime, like driving while intoxicated or excessive speeding, when the incident occurred. A more serious Oklahoma vehicular manslaughter offense such as this may result in a fine of $500 to $1,000, two to three years in prison, and one to two years of probation.
Our Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Help
Although Oklahoma laws consider vehicular manslaughter a lesser offense than murder, the penalties associated with a vehicular manslaughter conviction in Oklahoma are still harsh and may impact the rest of your life. If you have been charged with an Oklahoma vehicular manslaughter offense, it is imperative that you have an experienced criminal defense attorney handling your case. Contact the Oklahoma City law firm of Oklahoma Legal Center today to have your charges reviewed by an attorney with experience litigating vehicular manslaughter cases.