Oklahoma manslaughter charges? Our experienced criminal defense attorneys will review your case for free.
Manslaughter is the killing of a person without premeditated thoughts, also known as “malice aforethought”. There are two levels of manslaughter in Oklahoma City County: voluntary manslaughter and involuntary manslaughter.
Voluntary manslaughter includes killing in the heat of passion or while committing a felony.
Involuntary manslaughter is charged when the death of someone occurs while breaking a non-felony law. An example of involuntary manslaughter in Oklahoma is vehicular manslaughter. Follow the link for details.
If you have been charged with voluntary manslaughter or involuntary manslaughter in Oklahoma, contact our experienced criminal defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center for legal help.
Manslaughter Laws in Oklahoma
An Oklahoma manslaughter charge is defined as the killing of a person without premeditation, or “malice aforethought.” According to Oklahoma law, there are two categories of manslaughter: voluntary and involuntary. If you are facing voluntary or involuntary manslaughter charges in Oklahoma, your first course of action should be to consult an experienced defense attorney. With the help of our knowledgeable lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center, you can significantly improve your chances of winning your case and having your charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Penalties for Manslaughter in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, first-degree manslaughter is defined as a positive intention to kill or an act of violence from which death or serious bodily harm results. The penalties associated with a first-degree manslaughter conviction in Oklahoma City may include a prison term of not less than four years.
Conversely, any killing of a human being by the negligence of another – which is not considered murder, first-degree manslaughter, or excusable or justifiable homicide – is classified as second-degree manslaughter. Under Oklahoma law, manslaughter in the second degree is punishable by a prison term of between one and four years, and a fine of $1,000.
Oklahoma criminal laws define vehicular manslaughter as the crime of negligently driving a vehicle and directly causing the death of another human being. Penalties for an Oklahoma vehicular manslaughter conviction may include a fine of $500 to $1,000, two to three years in jail, and one to two years of probation.
Contact an Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney
If you are facing manslaughter charges in Oklahoma, an experienced criminal defense attorney can help. Our reputable defense lawyers at Oklahoma Legal Center are familiar with Oklahoma homicide laws and courtroom proceedings, and can ensure that your legal rights are protected and acknowledged throughout the course of your case. The penalties resulting from a manslaughter conviction in Oklahoma are severe and can significantly impact the rest of your life. Contact our criminal defense attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center today and we will work diligently to help you defend yourself in court.