Being convicted of drunk driving in Oklahoma affects not only your ability to drive, it can also subject you to hefty fines and significant jail time, and may even interfere with your ability to obtain certain types of employment in the future. In Oklahoma, there is also something known as a “lookback period,” which is …
Being convicted of drunk driving in Oklahoma affects not only your ability to drive, it can also subject you to hefty fines and significant jail time, and may even interfere with your ability to obtain certain types of employment in the future. In Oklahoma, there is also something known as a “lookback period,” which is the period of time that prior DUI offenses are relevant for sentencing. In Oklahoma, the lookback period is ten years. This means that if you are convicted of more than one DUI or DWI offense in Oklahoma within a ten year period, the associated penalties will be all the more severe. If you or a loved one is facing drunk driving charges in Oklahoma, contact our experienced DUI attorneys at Oklahoma Legal Center for legal help.
Oklahoma’s Implied Consent Law
Oklahoma has an implied consent law, which means if you refuse to submit to a chemical test under suspicion of drunk driving, you could incur a fine and an automatic license suspension. For a first offense involving refusal to take a chemical test in Oklahoma, the driver may be subject to a six-month license revocation and a minimum of five days in jail. For a second offense, the driver may face a one-year license revocation and a minimum of 10 days in jail. For a third offense, the penalty may include a three-year license revocation and a minimum of 10 days in jail.
Legal BAC Limits for Oklahoma Drivers
Oklahoma is a zero tolerance state, which means that no one under the age of 21 is permitted to drink and drive. Under Oklahoma law, any measurable amount of alcohol found in the system of an underage driver will lead to the automatic suspension of that person’s driver’s license. For driver’s 21 and over, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in the state of Oklahoma is .08%, which means any driver with a BAC of .08% and higher is considered intoxicated.
Penalties for DUI/DWI Charges in OK
If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol with a BAC of .08% or more, you may face the following penalties in Oklahoma:
First Offense – Misdemeanor
- Jail: From ten days to one year
- Fine: Up to $1,000
- License suspension: 180 days
Second Offense Within 10 Years of the First – Felony
- Jail: From one to five years
- Fine: Up to $2,500
- License suspension: One year if there was a prior drunk driving or drug-related revocation within five years
Second Felony Offense – Felony
- Jail: From one year to seven years
- Fine: Up to $5,000
- License suspension: Three years if there were two or more DUI or drug-related revocations in the past five years
Subsequent Offense – Felony
- Jail: From one year to ten years
- Fine: Up to $5,000
An Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
Facing a conviction for drunk driving in Oklahoma is serious, as the resulting penalties are severe and can affect your life for years to come. If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI in OK, contact our Oklahoma City DUI attorneys to discuss your possible defense. Securing qualified legal representation for your DUI charges can significantly improve your chances of obtaining a favorable outcome. With the help of our experienced criminal defense lawyers, you may be able to get your charges dropped or reduced, and you can protect your legal rights throughout the process.